Scissors Mechanism

I made a large scissoring mechanism out of wood and screws. I’ve always been in love with the type of mechanism, so I wanted to make one for myself!

It’s made from 14 – 9″ long 3/5″ wide 1/2″ thick wooden boards. I drilled through them and used 8-32 machine screws as pins. I then attached some wooden dowels to the end with wood screws.

The mechanism works pretty well, but doesn’t support much weight, unfortunately. I had some plans to attach sliding joint to the end to make a sable base to where I could attach a pair of grippers, the wood began to buckle with the added weight.

closedopen

Leave a Reply

